2011 Excellence in the Law

On Thursday June 2nd, Massachusetts Lawyers Weekly and New England In-House honored the very best of the legal profession including Diversity Heroes and Up & Coming Lawyers, and announced the winners of the Lawscars.

2011 Up & Coming Lawyers

Kathryn Hayne Barnwell, Carney & Bassil Tania Rodrigues Cleary, Mintz, Levin, Cohn, Ferris, Glovsky & Popeo

Maribeth A. Cusick, City of Boston Law Department Patricia C. D'Agostino, Margolis & Bloom

Andrew R. Dennington, Conn, Kavanaugh, Rosenthal, Peisch & Ford

Jay DeYoung, Fish & Richardson

Sean C. Flaherty, Keches Law Group

Andrew J. Gambaccini, Reardon, Joyce & Akerson

Keith E. Glidden, Verrill Dana

Jason L. Kropp, WilmerHale

Allyson E. Kurker, Kurker Law Group

Charles Lyon, Choate, Hall & Stewart

Camille A. Marcos, Marcos Law Offices

Amy F. Mendel, Clinical Data, Inc.

Louis S. Mercedes, Edwards, Angell, Palmer & Dodge

Leonard E. Milligan III, Milligan Coughlin

Neal E. Minahan Jr., McDermott, Will & Emery

India L. Minchoff, Russo & Minchoff

Ingrid Nava, SEIU Local 615

D. Danielle Pelot, Nixon Peabody

2011 Diversity Heroes

Ruth E. Fitch, CEO and President, The Dimock Center Mary Beth Heffernan, Public Safety Secretary,

Commonwealth of Massachusetts

Judge Joseph L. Tauro, U.S. District Court

Steven H. Wright, Executive Director, Boston Office, Holland & Knight

Excellence in Legal Journalism Award

State House News Service

Daniel F. Toomey Judicial Excellence Award

Retired Supreme Judicial Court Justice Judith A. Cowin Lawscars:

Best Dressed

Winner:

Doug Sheff, Sheff Law Offices

Nominees:

John A. Donovan, III, Sloane & Walsh

Syrie Fried, Federal Defender Office

Allison L. Kaplan, Bletzer & Bletzer

Marianne LeBlanc, Sugarman & Sugarman

Soraya Sadeghi, Law Offices of Soraya Sadeghi

Tannaz Saponaro, Verrill Dana

Harvey Silverglate, Zalkind Rodriguez Lunt & Duncan Ilene Robinson Sunshine, Sullivan & Worcester

Andrew Zaroulis, Law Office of Andrew J. Zaroulis

Court Clerk of the year

Winner:

Craig Nicewicz, U.S. District Court, Boston

Nominees:

Julie Stiles Matuschak, Essex County Probate & Family Court

Louise Ann Towle, Ayer District Court and Lawrence District Court

Court Officer of the Year

Winner:

Matthew Burns, Ayer District Court

Nominees:

David Abbott, Norfolk County Superior Court **Danny Grande**, Middlesex Probate and Family Court

Law Firm of the Year

Winner:

Parker Scheer

Nominees:

Ropes & Gray

Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom

Law Professor of the Year

Winner:

Kim McLaurin, Suffolk University Law School

Nominees:

Hugh Ault, Boston College Law School **Karen Blum**, Suffolk University Law School

Mentor of the Year

Winner:

Andrew P. Cornell, Law Office of Andrew P. Cornell

Nominees:

David Dykeman, Greenberg Traurig **Alfred Paul Farese III**, Law Offices of Alfred Paul

Farese, Jr.

Cheryl Garrity, Cheryl Garrity Attorney at Law Nancy Shilepsky, Shilepsky Hartley Robb/Michele Whitham, Foley Hoag (Mentors for WBA's Women's Leadership Initiative)

Richard Zielinski, Goulston & Storrs